Tuesday, June 6, 2017

3 New Agents Actively Seeking YA Fiction, Scifi, Fantasy, Nonfiction and more

Here are three new agents actively seeking clients. Greta Moran (The Beth Vesel Literary Agency) is looking for literary fiction and narrative nonfiction. Samantha Wekstein (Writers House) is interested in YA fiction, as well as historical, romance, women’s fiction, fantasy, and sci-fi. Lauren Bieker (Fineprint) is looking for commercial and upmarket women’s fiction.

Note: For a comprehensive list of new and established writers actively seeking writers see: Agents Seeking Clients.

IMPORTANT: You should NEVER query an agent without checking the agency website first. Submission requirements frequently change, and agents may close their lists or switch agencies.
___________________

Greta Moran of Beth Vesel Literary Agency

Prior to joining the Beth Vesel Literary Agency, Greta Moran worked as an assistant at The Irene Goodman Agency and an editorial intern at Farrar, Straus and Giroux and W.W. Norton. She earned her smarts at Reed College where she studied English Literature and Creative Writing. Greta also writes and has been published in The Atlantic, Mcsweeney's Internet Tendency, Lumina, and elsewhere.

What she is seeking: "I'm excited about advocating for new, diverse voices, especially nonfiction and literary fiction writers."

How to submit: Email queries to queries@bvlit.com. For fiction submissions, please submit a cover letter, an informative synopsis, and the first 15 pages of your manuscript. For nonfiction submissions, please submit a cover letter detailing your idea, a complete outline, and the first 5 pages of your manuscript.
_________________________

Samantha Wekstein of Writers House

I graduated from the University of Maryland with a B.A. in English. I began my career at Writers House in 2013 with an internship. Before becoming an Agent, I was the assistant to CEO, Amy Berkower and then to founder, Al Zuckerman. I also briefly worked as an assistant at The Agency Group. I've been lucky enough to work with a variety of best-selling and award winning authors across all genres. I am now in the process of actively building my client list.

What she is seeking: My passion is YA fiction. I love creative and epic fantasies in the vein of Sarah J. Maas or Leigh Bardugo. But I am also drawn to contemporary YA with multi-dimensional female characters like those of Rainbow Rowell, Julie Murphy and Melina Marchetta.

I also love middle grade of any kind, but especially books that deal with themes of friendship, adventure, or encountering tragedy for the first time. My favorites are Sharon Creech and Gail Carson Levine.

In adult fiction, I am looking for historical, romance, women’s fiction, fantasy, and sci-fi.

How to submit: Please send a query letter in the body of your email and the first chapter as an attachment to swekstein@writershouse.com.
______________________

Lauren Bieker of Fineprint

After a brief career in the fashion industry, Lauren made her move to publishing as an intern for agent Paige Wheeler. She moved to FinePrint to assist with day-to-day administrative tasks, but is now developing her client list and is open to queries.

What she is seeking: Lauren is looking for commercial and upmarket women’s fiction and some well-crafted and differentiated YA novels. She is also open to select dystopian science fiction, as well as high concept and literary fiction works. She appreciates great storytelling and is a “sucker” for outstanding writing and convincing characters. While primarily interested in fiction, she will consider non-fiction proposals related to the world of fashion.

Please note: Lauren is NOT looking for religious fiction, horror, fantasy, or political/military fiction.

How to submit: Send a query letter with a synopsis of your book, your bio, and the first two chapters (no more than 30 pages) embedded in the body of your email — DO NOT SEND AN ATTACHMENT WITHOUT A REQUEST TO DO SO otherwise your submission attachment will simply be discarded. If interested, your manuscript will be requested. email to: lauren@fineprintlit.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...